From a PC to a Mac: Life after switching to OS X

This post technically speaking has nothing to do with ICT4Peace per se, in that as a theory and practice, ICT4Peace aims to be platform, operating system agnostic. That said, I thought I’d share my experience of using a Mac for my work in Sri Lanka on a number of ICT4Peace initiatives.

Why I switched
One reason – VOR Radio. The tools I needed to edit audio, create jingles and manage podcasts are on a single package on the Mac – Garageband. As I’ve discovered with all Mac software, it’s rock solid, blindingly fast and works seamlessly with other applications I use in the iLife suite that comes with all Macs. In short, it just works – no blue screens, no hard drive thrashing, no memory leaks, no frozen screens, no crashes.

In fact, that really captures by overall experience on my Mac, a Core Duo 2.16Ghz with 1Gb RAM and a 100Gb hard drive. Mac OS X 10.4.8 is fluid, simple and intuitive. That hardest part, after using Windows almost daily since 1996 (and MS-DOS since the early 90’s), was the learning curve associated with what is really a remarkable operating system. In a sense, you have to unlearn everything you learnt with Windows (until XP SP2, I’ve not tried Vista yet) and get used to an UI that is as aesthetically pleasing as it is functional.

The basic Mac comes with iLife, multimedia tools and creativity tools including a programme that allows you to make cartoon strips, for those so inclined, that are definitely years ahead of those offered in Windows XP. This is a phrase I’ll use a lot in this post: everything just works. There’s no need to remember complex key sequences, there’s a uniform UI to each app, one is not bombarded with dialog boxes and questions in order to complete tasks, and the OS X, strange to understand at first, only actually alerts you when there is something wrong (as opposed to the Windows XP behaviour of heralding everything it detects or does with a dialog box you have to click to get rid of, such as plugging in a USB drive)

The worst applications on the Mac
I thought I would get the worst out of the way – and not surprisingly, it’s Microsoft Office for the Mac. I don’t know what the performance of Office applications on the older PowerPC based Macs are, but on my machine, they are, by far, the slowest, ugliest and most unstable applications I use.

One does note that Office runs in emulation mode (Rosetta) on the new Intel based Macs, which really does show when you are editing a large document with nested tables, or running a complex accounting formula in Excel, or editing a complex PowerPoint. Also, there’s supposed to be a new release later this year that’s going to run natively on the Intel Macs. But for now, I’m just going to have to deal with Word for Mac crashing ever so often, forcing me to more paranoid that I ever was on Windows and Office 2003 when editing a document.

Transferring emails. Lots of them.

O2M

The biggest fear of switching for me was the migration of around 1.5Gb of emails, from around 2000 (totally over 60,000) that I had on Outlook 2003 on my previous laptop, a Dell X1 (which at the time, was only the 3rd to be sold in Sri Lanka). The folks at BT Options, who helped me out with this, installed LittleMachine’s O2M, which I honestly didn’t expect to work as well as it did. It took a while to convert the emails into a Mac friendly format, but once it did, I was able to import all my emails to Entourage on the Mac (the rough equivalent of Outlook for Windows) without losing a single email or attachment.

Entourage vs. Mac.app
The reason I chose Entourage as my email client over the Mac’s built in email app was because I was more comfortable with using a Microsoft programme for tasks that I simply did not have the time to learn anew the Mac email app (I usually have to meet at least one deadline a day via email).

This was, however, before I discovered just how slow Entourage was when sifting through the 60,000+ emails I had, even through Spotlight.

I switched to the Mac’s built-in email app around 4 months after I bought the machine, and have not regretted it for a second. Though less capable than Entourage, the Mail app runs natively, is bloody fast when displaying emails received 2 – 3 years ago, and works, as one would expect, very well with Spotlight.

Apps I use daily. Well, almost daily.
After sifting through the web’s 10 best mac apps / 10 best free mac apps / 10 mac apps you can’t live without and related blog posts, I’ve found a few apps that have become increasingly indispensable for the work that I do. And that’s really the point – this is not a list that going to be as useful for other Mac users, and perhaps I’m missing out on apps that are better, but the fact is that these work for me, and they work well.

So in no particular order:

Adium
Adium
Can’t imagine going back to multiple instant messaging clients. Adium for the Mac is not just eye-candy, its rock solid and connects to more services that I have accounts for. Good shit.

Toast Titanium 8
Mac’s, like Windows XP, comes with CD / DVD burning capabilities built into the OS, but in both operating systems, I’ve found them to be less useful (and reliable) than a dedicated CD / DVD burning app. Toast Titanium 8 is as close to perfection as it gets – slick, fast and with the latest version, even giving me the option of burning Blu-ray discs, this is the best optical media copying and burning app I’ve used.

Aperture
Aperture
I’m increasingly into amateur photography (saving up to buy a decent digital SLR) and quickly outgrew the (amazing) iPhoto application, that comes bundled with the Mac. Switched to Aperture and though I’m still getting to grips with the application, the joy of working at native speeds on the Intel chip (Adobe Photoshop CS3, still in beta at the time of writing, will be the first Photoshop to support the Intel based Macs without Rosetta) and the power to manipulate RAW images and tweak photos, in real time, made this a natural choice for me. I still use Photoshop CS for image manipulation, especially filters, but the more I use Aperture, the more I grow to love, as with all Apple products, the sheer genius in design and functionality.

RSSOwl
RSSOwl
I used this on Windows, and wasn’t about to ditch it when I switched to a Mac. Same functionality, same reliability as the Windows version.

Pages
Pages
More powerful than Word, and what one can say is the equivalent of Microsoft Publisher for the Mac, Pages makes DTP enjoyable. Less capable than InDesign CS (which I’m learning) and QuarkXPress (which I have no desire to learn) but far more powerful than Word for the Mac, iPages delivers incredibly professional even in the hands of those who only know a smattering of DTP. Emphasis on professional – the templates included in Pages can transform even the most boring and ill-formatted Word document into something that looks as if it’s come out of a professional DTP house with a minimum of fuss. And once to get to grip with the underlying power of Pages, its a real disincentive to go for something like InDesign unless you really want to enter into high-end, high volume DTP.

Ecto
Ecto
While I used Bloggar under Windows, I was disappointed to learn that there wasn’t a Mac version available. This disappointment was short lived – Ecto’s now my single point of entry to around 10 blogs to which I contribute to on a range of platforms – from Blogger to WordPress. Everything just works.

AntiRSI
AntiRSI
Recently diagnosed with RSI, I was told that I needed to change my posture and my work patterns or else face surgery or worse. Taking the hint, I installed AntiRSI, which helpfully reminds me that no deadline is more important than my health. Not that I always listen…

Paparazzi!
Paparazzi!
Some of my work involves taking screenshots of websites for promotional purposes, writing manuals, creating help screens, or to include in reports. Paparazzi! makes all this a cinch – and I really haven’t come across an equivalent for Windows.

MaxBulk Mailer Professional
MaxBulk Mailer
While I never used the Windows equivalent, the need to send out email updates to over 2,500 recipients required that I do something a bit more sophisticated than sending the same email many times over using the BCC field. Enter MaxBulk Mailer, which for around $60 gives me the control I need to send out emails in a structured manner, allows me to keep organised lists, group emails etc. Best of all, on my Mac, it uses Postfix, which is blindingly fast and very reliable.

WriteRoom
WriteRoom
Simply the best tool for a writer on the Mac. Period. And, in what I think is absolutely unique on for a programme on the web, the authors even tell you how to bypass the licensing scheme, allowing to effectively get the paid version, for free!

Mindjet MindManager 6 for Mac
I used MindManager a lot on my Dell, and was a bit lost when I switched to find something as easy to use on the Mac, even though there are quite a few open source mind-mapping tools around. Happily, MindJet released MindManager for the Mac, which, dare I say, is even easier to use than the Windows version.

Skype + Call Recorder
Ah – Skype. Honestly, what would an information worker today do without it? Problem is, Skype features on / for the Mac trail behind the Windows counterpart. None of the new features in Skype 3 for Windows are featured in the current release for the Mac, but the VoIP and video features work just fine, thank you.

And with Call Recorder, I can very easily create podcasts from Skype calls.

Flip4Mac
Now how could I watch all my WMV movies without Flip4Mac?

Growl
Hard to describe this one – except that Growl is a programme that once installed, provides status notifications from a wide range of programmes installed on my Mac unobstrusively in the upper right hand corner of my screen. Very smooth.

Google Earth
Honestly haven’t used this for any serious purpose. Yet. But whizzing through the global with accelerated OpenGL goodness powered by a Radeon graphics card that kicks ass can be a such an enjoyable waste of time.

Parallels
Here’s the irony. I actually got Jack Ozzie, Ray Ozzie’s brother, to buy me what was my first legit copy of Windows XP SP2 direct from Microsoft (employees get a massive discount) and the bloody CD doesn’t work! There has to be some karma involved here for all the years of bootlegging Windows. Anyway, as a result, I’ve not been able to play around much with Parallels which everyone is oohing and aahhing about, save to install Ubuntu Edgy Eft – which works like a charm.

Transmission

The only BitTorrent client I’ve used on my Mac. The only BitTorrent client I’ll ever use on my Mac.

Apart from these programmes – some of which I use many times daily, all of which I use at least once a week – I also love & use Uno, ccPublisher, CoconutBattery, HandBrake, OnyX, The Unarchiver, iStat Pro and Zinio.

And finally, there’s Dashboard. I’ve downloaded quite a few widgets to try them out, but iStat Pro is the only one I’ve found truly useful, aside from the built in widgets. The (currency) unit converter widget is one I find tremendously useful when writing a proposal & budget – it connects to the web to get the latest forex rates and what used to be a rather laborious task of going to the web to find the latest rates is now a cinch.

Since getting a Mac, I’ve been challenged to find an excuse that isn’t a lie to explain a delay in keeping to a deadline – this laptop simply does not crash, I haven’t re-started the system for over a week and it’s still working fine, all the software just works and the OS (OS X 10.4.8) so rock solid that you sometimes almost will it to crash just to see what it must be like.

Couple of minor annoyances. I think I mentioned the instability of Word in particular, but MS Office in general on the Intel based Macbook Pro. Given that I use this suite the most in a given day, I can’t wait to upgrade to the new version for Macs due sometime later this year, that should bring the feature set and functionality more in line with the new Office for Windows. And, more importantly, native Intel performance.

I wish, somewhere, there was a hard drive light. Though it doesn’t crash, the Mac does thrash the hard drive sometimes, and since it’s so bloody silent, the whirling beach-ball animation is all that gives an indication of hard drive activity.

This laptop runs hot – and I find it impossible to work with it on my lap. There are a few utilities out there that allows for the control of fan speeds, but I’ve shied away from tweaking such settings.

Windows vs. Mac
I don’t think I’m going to go back to Windows soon. For ICT4Peace and the work that I do, I can unequivocally say that a Mac is better than any Windows XP based laptop / desktop I’ve used – I now concentrate more on my work, than on maintaining my laptop with regular anti-virus upgrades, defragmenting, anti-spyware updates, Internet Explorer exploit updates and all manner of other annoying tasks that really does take up a whole lot of time if you add up the minutes.

I say Windows XP because aside from an early beta, I’ve not really used Vista. Having seen videos of it in action, I’d love to try it out to see how it compares with what I’m now used to on the Mac. But again, having experienced what is really a higher level of computing, unless there is a definitive and overwhelmingly compelling reason to go back to Windows, I don’t think I will.

10 comments on “From a PC to a Mac: Life after switching to OS X

  1. nazreen
    February 8, 2007 at 12:27 am #

    you make my 12 inch mac powerbook feel archaich, and I have only owned it for the last eighteen months. Wonder if it’s worth my while to upgrade to a pro. A bit too pricey and just can’t afford it at present. Do feel I am missing out,though. can I run all that software you mention on my powerbook? Yes and the beauty of the Mac’s is I have yet to experience a crash or a nasty virus onslaught. knock on wood.

  2. ict4peace
    February 8, 2007 at 8:12 am #

    Hi Nazreen,

    There is absolutely nothing wrong with the new Macbook, Apple’s replacement for the 12″ Powerbook. Comes in black to boot. The significant difference between the Macbook Pro and the Macbook is the graphics chip – the Pro has a dedicated graphics accelerator by ATI, the Macbook has one by Intel that’s far less powerful for games and high end 3D graphics. But if all you do is word processing, web surfing, basic DTP, emailing and blogging – the Macbook makes a lot more sense than the Macbook Pro.

    Both models, I have to say, are now even more powerful than my laptop – sporting as they do the new Intel Core 2 Duo chips which I am told run faster, and cooler.

    Talk about feeling archaic…

    Cheers,

    Sanjana

  3. ict4peace
    February 8, 2007 at 4:48 pm #

    Sorry meant to say two other things in that last comment – the Macbook is much cheaper than the Macbook Pro.

    And yes, all of the programmes above run on the PowerPC based Macs as well, EXCEPT Parallels, which needs an Intel Mac to run.

  4. Antonio
    February 8, 2007 at 10:07 pm #

    Sure, the MB Pro would be a better choice, but the MB is quite decent. I’m trying out Aperture now…not sure if it will be better than Adobe Lightroom.
    Ah, yes, Flip4Mac is one of the most useful plug ins on my Mac for sure. They have a new DVD imaging app available now too, called Drive In. Free in beta now Check it out HERE Also my blogblurb about it HERE

  5. Ralf
    February 17, 2007 at 10:35 am #

    Hi Sanjana

    Welcome to Club Mac🙂 I’m glad it’s been a good experience.

    Apparently the NeoOffice native (not X11) port of OpenOffice to MacOS X is very usable.
    http://www.neooffice.org/

    Let me recommend two more must have apps though:

    Quicksilver
    http://quicksilver.blacktree.com/

    and

    MenuMeters
    http://www.ragingmenace.com/software/menumeters/

    the later will give you a hard drive indicator too.

    Ralf

  6. ict4peace
    February 18, 2007 at 6:39 pm #

    Hi Ralf,

    Great to hear from you. I’ve heard of NeoOffice – first through the port that’s available on Ubuntu Linux. I’ve found it on Ubuntu to be less capable than OpenOffice, but more than capable for basic word processing and presentation tasks. And that’s where it fails for me – I rarely do anything basic anymore on Office, Word and Excel and PowerPoint in particular, given the nature of the work that I do. OpenOffice would fit the bill very well, but not keen to install it until it supports OS X without the X11 add-on.

    I actually used Quicksilver earlier and frankly may give it another shot. I used it at a time I was just getting to grips with the new system, and the learning curve of Quicksilver atop that of OS X compelled me to drop the programme.

    The problem with MenuMeters I have is that it is pug-ugly. Compared to the other tools on the Mac, I’m now a bit of a UI snob and don’t want anything that looks as ugly as MenuMeter in front of me all the time.Apart from the hard drive indicator, most of the other functionality I find at the touch of a button in iStat Pro, a widget that looks as good as it is useful.

    Sanjana

  7. ict4peace
    February 21, 2007 at 9:57 pm #

    Dear Ralf,

    I just wanted you to know that having reinstalled Quicksilver and pored through several PDF’s and its own help wikis, I’ve now found it to be an invaluable addition to Mac OS X. It is, you would agree, a rather idiosyncratic programme – that becomes indispensable with use. After increasingly getting to grips with the programme, I have taken off many programmes from the Dock and invoke them, in less than time I feel than it took me to move the mouse to their icon in the dock, through Quicksilver.

    I’ve also added to the QS’s catalogue several directories with files that I use regularly, and find it tremendously faster than Spotlight on my MacBook Pro.

    This truly is a superb programme.

    Sanjana

  8. cerno
    May 6, 2007 at 1:46 pm #

    Just wanted to say think you for this post. Writing Room along was something I’ve been looking for for a long long long time🙂

  9. Jim Alford
    July 13, 2007 at 7:20 am #

    Hi Sanjana, I googled to try and find someone who could help me out with my mac. I need to be able to convert microsoft works into mac pages. I have had this mac for about 8 months now, and am still learning how to use it. It works a lot better than my old pc. Is this possible? I have been looking for someone to help me with this. Thanks, Jim.

  10. Sanjana Hattotuwa
    July 13, 2007 at 7:38 am #

    Jim,

    I don’t believe any such programme exists, but stand corrected if some developer somewhere has developed a product specifically for this purpose. I use Pages, but never used MS Works, so I’m afraid I’m not able to help you in this regard.

    Sanjana

Leave a Reply

