TV over the Internet: LiveStation for the Mac

 

 

LiveStation

LiveStation

 

This morning, I watched the first US Presidential debate live on my Mac, on BBC, using LiveStation. As Russell Merryman, Head of New Media, Al Jazeera English notes here,

“Livestation has given us another option to reach a growing broadband audience which is increasingly accessing live TV online.”

Although I still believe the sound and video quality of Joost (the old version based on the P2P client) to be superior, my experience of IP TV on it was coloured by the banality of the content on it. I like LiveStation because it gives decent quality on the channels I (need to) watch – BBC, Al Jazeera, CNN International, France24. There are also dozens of other user generated channels.

Who needs cable TV when I have all the content I want on my desktop?

Leave a Reply

