ICODR podcast: Sanjana Hattotuwa on technology, disinformation, and peace

Screenshot

The ICODR Podcast, from the International Council for Online Dispute Resolution (icodr.org), covers the rapidly growing field of online dispute resolution. Hosted by Ian Macduff, the podcast interviews ODR experts from around the world to discuss the latest developments in the field, with an eye to ethics, culture, security, and impartiality.

I joined the wonderful Ian Macduff for a wide-ranging discussion, delving into the complex interplay between digital technology, social media, and their impacts on society, particularly in the context of conflict, peacebuilding, and disinformation.

Listen to it here.

The conversation touches on the early optimism surrounding the internet, as encapsulated by Frances Cairncross’s “The Death of Distance,” which envisioned a world where digital connectivity fosters understanding and peace.

However, I reflected on the evolution of online spaces from platforms of global community, and shared interests to performative theatres of division, where the proliferation of algorithms, and platform functionalities like the “like” button on Facebook contributed to societal fragmentation, intensification of hate, and spread of harms.

We talk about Groundviews, and why I set it up. We also talk a lot about my work at the ICT4Peace Foundation, since 2006.

We end by critically examining the dark side of ICTs, highlighting the role of digital platforms in undermining democratic values and the shared basis of reality. My work in New Zealand, particularly in the aftermath of the Christchurch mosque shootings, and with The Disinformation Project, helps illustrate the global scope of truth decay, and its implications for democracy, social cohesion, and individual safety.

Looking back, Ian’s the first New Zealander I knew, and he’s such a wonderful ambassador for the country. Our association goes back close to two decades.

Towards the end of the podcast, we talk about home – and I reflect how the loss of my home (Sri Lanka) to disinformation is, in large part, the motivation behind what I do now in New Zealand. You’ll have to listen to the podcast for the fuller answer – and the first time I’ve been asked, and talked about this.

My thanks also go out to Colin Rule, for involving me in this amazing podcast series.